Why do I need a marriage license

Marriage can be described as a procedure that involves two people who are willing to start a contract and so there is not much intervention needed from legal practitioners. However, it is important to know the basic laws that guide each state in certain matters and how to go about obeying these laws before saying “I do”. Each state has its own set of rules and regulation which guides it and the state of Illinois is not left out. To get married in Illinois, certain requirements would have to be met before a “go ahead” on behalf of the state is given in the form of a marriage license. Some requirements have to be met and also information that has to be provided. They include:

  • The application must be made as early as possible so that it can be ready before the wedding. The reason for this is that Illinois has a one day waiting period. Therefore, make sure your marriage license is ready before your big day. Having your marriage license before you big day would make you less worried about getting your marriage license. It would not be advisable that you obtain your marriage license on the day of your wedding as that can put your edge.
  • Blood relatives are prohibited from getting married. The only exemption of this is if they are first cousins and are above the age of 50, then they can get married in the eyes of the law. Also, anyone who is still legally married to another person would not be allowed to get married in Illinois. However, the information should be provided if that marriage has been nullified or if the other spouse is no more. If the marriage has been nullified, the information should be provided on the date and place the divorce to place and if the other spouse is more, the information should be provided on the place and time the death took place. If the divorce or death took place within 30-days before the application for a marriage license, an official certificate of death or divorce is to be presented before the county clerk.
  • A certain fee is to be paid before the issuing of the application. This fee varies from county to county. While some county accepts any form of payment, most do not accept anything but cash so be prepared.
  • To get married in Illinois without the consent of either parent, the couple intending to get married must be 18years and above. If they are not up to 18 years, maybe 16 or 17 years, it is mandatory that both parents be present and give consent to the wedding. If both parents cannot be present, then, they must be present in the office of the local county clerk in their state and sign in the office showing they have consented to the union. If one parent cannot be present, an affidavit must be signed. Also, for all minors, the birth certificate must be presented in the office of the county clerk.
  • For nonresident of Illinois, there is no law stating that they cannot be issued a marriage license. The only time it would be an issue is if the state of the nonresident prohibits them from getting married outside the place they reside.
  • When going to the county clerks office, bring any form of identification such as your drivers’ license, passport or an ID card issued by the state. Another means of identification can be a permanent resident card, a military ID card or a matricula consular.
  • The marriage license is valid for 60 days after marriage and can only be used in the county it was issued. This means that your marriage ceremony must take place around the area of the county in which it was issued.
  • Illinois does not permit proxy marriage in which one party would not be present and would be represented by another person. All parties involved must be present when called by the county clerk.
  • A blood test is not to be carried out by the county clerk before issuing a marriage license. The county clerk, however, can offer advice on issues such as sexually transmitted diseases or any genetic disease.
  • You do not need witnesses to obtain a marriage license.

If you have further questions, or need help getting your marriage license, U.S marriage laws is the best place to go for more information regarding marriage licenses.